[SotE] A bit of this and a bit of that

I’ve spent time editing some of the rules I’ve written. Turns out my overland travel rules were a bit too realistic since travelling in a mountain pass in the winter would kill a weak character in about a week. Which might be realistic but not too much fun in a game. Needs a bit more playtesting, I think.

Also, I am writing the parts of the setting that bind everything together. I want the reader and the player to get at least an introduction to what was different in the Early Modern age, so there’s a chapter with stuff about marriage, love, cuisine, clothes, the impact of the seasons, government, law enforcement, the militaries and various other such things. Got the inspiration to make a specific chapter about that after reading a critique of Lamentations of the Flame Princess, which said that it says Early Modern but the book doesn’t really reflect it at all. So, I’ll reinforce the Early Modern stuff. I might have slipped a bit into Late Medieval at times, so I need to rectify that.

Accessibility is a pretty important part of a rpg experience in my mind, so I have thought about hiring someone to write up a synopsis of the setting later on, because as a guy who mostly runs games himself, I have never made my players read through more than three pages worth of background material. In my mind, a setting that can’t be described in one sentence isn’t very good at all.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

